Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Cannot Hollow Out Airplane Wing in Onshape

SoapydogSoapydog Member Posts: 2
Hi, 

I am relatively new in CAD modelling and Onshape, so please forgive me if I do something wrong. I am trying to hollow out an airplane wing using the shell tool with thickness of 1mm. However, it just says "Shell did not regenerate properly: Could not shell part with selections." 

When I use the shell feature on an object without any loft, it works just fine.

The Onshape Project in question is linked below:
https://cad.onshape.com/documents/095333f1d5648663e6ed9298/w/613a00502683658c17564057/e/66be12b516ee5376dd0fdbc5?renderMode=0&uiState=65f4267ecdc0954490e68e50 

Would Appreciate any assistance,
Soapy dog

Best Answers

• Options
    martin_kopplowmartin_kopplow Member Posts: 339 PRO
    Answer ✓
    Yeah, that's a difficult shape. It might be a good approach to surface-model that, maybe keep top and bottom separate at the chord for now, and then thicken, unite.
  • Options
    john_lopez363john_lopez363 Member Posts: 94 ✭✭
    edited March 15 Answer ✓
    @Soapydog
    Here is one approach!  Perhaps not ideal, but it's a work around.
    - Create a second set of airfoil profile sketches that is somewhat smaller than the originals. You will need to create the root profile sketch offset from original so that you can retain the notch and tab you've modeled.