Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Tapered rectangle by extruding?

CodyHCodyH Member Posts: 22
Is there a quick and standard approach to extruding an object, such as a rectangle, with all four sides tapering to a particular dimension? I'm still learning the basics of Onshape and this is eluding me. Tapering two sides would simply involve extruding a sketch, but I don't get how to symmetrically extrude to a taper. For instance, I want a 41.5 mm x 16.5 mm x 60 mm rectangle to taper down to 40.5 mm x 15.5 mm x 60 mm. Thanks! 
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    _Ðave__Ðave_ Member, Developers Posts: 712 ✭✭✭✭
    There's no direct way to taper to a specific dimension as you described. You can taper by degrees or you can 2 dimension chamfer the edges  one dimension would be 60 and the other would be .5 in your example.
  • Options
    shanshanshanshan Member Posts: 147 ✭✭✭
    CodyH, why not use "loft"?you can get a taper directly with "loft"!

0118.PNG 105.1K
  • Options