Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Change (pocket) a part inside an assembly

Hi There,

I'm rather new to the onshape so the answer might be somewhere already but I even cannot formulate the question properly to find it. I hope for the community to help me :)

I'm drawing a model for a pergola. I created a couple of 2d sketches. But now I'd like to create a 3d model and practice with the assembly tools. The roof is inclined and I need to calculate a cut in the beam that is going from the back to the front of the pergola. Here is the 2D sketch.

So essentially I want that

(A) having the beam (yellow part) model as a whole

(B) position it on top of the post below with the parametrized depth (3 cm - the is the distance in the sketch) - and this should be done somehow (??) within the assembly, which I also don't know how, because the mate should be somewhere in the middle of the part

(C) so that onshape calculates the cut (green line) in the beam automatically (i mean it's dimensions), and the angle of the beam too and … all the dependent dimensions

(D) … and then same for the 45 angle support between the beam and post too … but that's the next step anyway

Something like this (just a manual positioning here to visualize)

So is this possible at all? And how to approach it?

Comments

• MichaelPascoeMichaelPascoe Member Posts: 1,950 PRO
    edited August 27