Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:

  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

What happens when a feature you use is deleted?

dave_cowdendave_cowden Member, Developers Posts: 445 ✭✭✭
Suppose you use a feature from a document created by another author.

I know that when the author creates new versions, your document continues to use the older version of the feature until you upgrade it.

But what happens when:

1. the document containing your feature has its permissions removed, so that you no longer have permission

2. the document containing the feature is deleted by the author


Answers

  • ilya_baranilya_baran Onshape Employees, Developers, HDM Posts: 928
    Both 1 and 2 have the same answer -- the document that uses the feature continues to function as if the document that defines the feature is accessible.  You cannot use the feature in a different document directly, but you can use it again in the document that already uses it.
    Ilya Baran \ Director, Architecture and FeatureScript \ Onshape Inc
  • Narayan_KNarayan_K Member Posts: 379 ✭✭✭
    @ dave_cowden , Derived parts remains in your document even if you don't have the permission to that document or the document containing the feature is deleted.Only thing is you can't update to any other version.


  • dave_cowdendave_cowden Member, Developers Posts: 445 ✭✭✭
    perfect, that's what I thought, I just wanted to be sure.  Thank you!
Sign In or Register to comment.