Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Parts Per Studio

shai_perednikshai_perednik Member Posts: 56 ✭✭
edited June 2016 in Community Support
I'm new to MCAD and starting to learn with onshape.  One thing I'm not clear on and haven't found guidance is how many parts in one part studio.  When I watch the video tutorials, I see that there's usually several different unrelated parts in one studio, rather than 1 part per studio.

So is there any best practices out there I should be aware of?
Should I be putting like parts in one studio?  IE all the 2020 aluminium extrusions in one part studio and a separate one for all bushings?
My worry is too many parts in one studio would complicate editing those individual parts.

Found these two posts that give some direction.  But still not clear on how many parts should be in one studio:
http://www.solidsmack.com/cad/onshape-part-studio-vs-multibody-is-there-a-difference/
https://www.onshape.com/cad-blog/tech-tip-part-studios-vs.-assemblies

Thank you for the guidance!
Tagged:

Best Answers

• Options
    shashank_aaryashashank_aarya Member Posts: 265 ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓