Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Noob / enthusiastic amateur - hole function

sam_wehrlisam_wehrli Member Posts: 12 PRO
edited August 2016 in Community Support
I have some horribly outdated background. I got into welding / fabrication for the simple fact that I couldn't afford college. I love it, but my first love will always be CAD. I got drafted at work to build some fixtures, so I am trying to model them in OS so that more experienced machinists can make the individual parts, being that the tolerances on these fixture can be pretty tight. 

I have the basic parts modeled, and I am stuck. I'm missing something silly. I have the parts modeled and my sketch points located, but when I attempt the hole function I get an error about intersections. The holes need to be tapped 5/16 - 24 in the last part (0.5 inch), and close fit in the first 2 (3.5 inches). Any help would be greatly appreciated. I made the drawing public.

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/844a3dff7796ca887e8368e4/w/8365d3095285df67b07ceb1b/e/3a59f6c1ef636442696465b0

Best Answer

Answers

• Options
    henry_feldmanhenry_feldman Member Posts: 126 EDU