Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Mate curves surface to vertical planar edge using planes

paul_mcgivenpaul_mcgiven Member Posts: 13 ✭✭
I am trying to mate an edge at the end of a curved surface to a vertical planar face, i use solid works for a living and would in this case create a plane in one part and then mate that to the other part vertical surface, easy, but in on shape i can create a plane on the part where i want to mate it, but then when i go into the assy the planes are not visible, i have tried mate connectors and tangents but they don't give me the result i need, is there a way to use the parts planes to mate them together as i can't see a way, or a way of mating an edge with a face. Thanks for any help in advance.
In solid works i can also use sketched from parts to mate them, i assume thats not possible in onshape
I have also considered measuring the distance between the parts and moving them but i can't get an xyz measurement only minimum distance then i could measure and move and fix the parts, not the best practice and not what i would do professional but could be a work round.

Thanks

Answers

• lemon1324lemon1324 Member, Developers Posts: 223 EDU
    Could you share a public copy of the document? I'm not exactly clear on what you're trying to do.  I'm pretty sure a mate connector should work, it's just a matter of positioning the mate connector correctly.
    Arul Suresh