Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Design wing with ribs for 3d printing

pieri70pieri70 Member Posts: 10 ✭✭
edited November 2016 in Community Support
Hello
I'm not an engineer but it's some time I play with Onshape mainly for hobby/personal projects.
I'm trying to find a way to design models with single external surface and internal structures, such as wings

My goal is to design wings and fuselages that will be printed in single wall 3d printing technique.
On the web you can find many examples like the ones sold by 3dlabprint (https://3dlabprint.com/index.php).

In those RC models wings are surfaces (single wall) with internal thin ribs.
I found how to import wing profiles and then I can generate the wing with Loft tool - Surface

Then how can I add internal structures? I was trying to create the drawing of ribs on an external plane then I tried to extrude them and intersect with the loft, without success...

Can someone please give me some hint on how to deal with this kind of drawings?

Thanks
Pietro

Answers

• Options
    I had a look at surfacing webinar on Youtube, I think that is the direction...
    Still looking for hints
  • Options
    Jason_SJason_S Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 211
    Here is a nice airfoil feature that one of my coworkers made: 

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/972dc31f395640d97dd6edca/w/8125816b48d1d07ebf0af701/e/b0dd208496a64d28d34778f4