Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Create a box in Onshape

bogdan_rădulescubogdan_rădulescu Member Posts: 1
edited March 2017 in Community Support
Hello,

I am very new to Onshape and to CAD in general but I have experience with SketchUp, event though that's not the same cup of tea,

I did the tutorial but I still have huge gaps..

I am trying to create a simple box (a speaker) with 6 wood rectangles but I can't figure out how to do that in a way in which I could practically generate some DXF files which could be sent CNC. As far as I understand a sketch is a 2D drawing on one of the 3 planes, which I can then extrude. Still, if I want to have parallel planes how do I do that?

So far, I was only able to do this :)
I guess it is obvious that I need to move the plane off center and create a mirror copy. Eventually, I need to put all 6 elements on the same drawing and export the box as DXF so I could send it to the CNC shop.

Can you please give me some clear indications to do this simple thing?

Thanks!

Best Answer

• Options
    Jake_RosenfeldJake_Rosenfeld Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,646
    Answer ✓
    Hi again!

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/df3240e83b098edf039e6e4c/w/2aba81d328d9c7059a5d949e/e/61bae6952f5f6bc8a1b26b67