Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Fix revolute mate limits in an assy when mate is defined in sub-assy

gw_estepgw_estep OS Professional Posts: 13 PRO
edited July 2017 in Community Support
I'm fairly new to OS so please bear with me if this is a noob question.  I couldn't seem to find a clear answer.

I'd like to fix the revolute mate limits between two parts in an assembly where the revolute mate is defined in another assy.

Here is a link to a simple doc that has the parts and assemblies I'm experimenting with.
https://cad.onshape.com/documents/8acd5d219ca09ca1efc81511/w/f90a1572e3d7dd0096ecb912/e/c1d3f8a610f967be53fae388

The use case is this.
I have a model that uses this https://8020.net/4197.html  and in OS, the pivot assy has the revolute mate defined between the arms and the nub without limits.

I'd like to use this assy in other assy's and docs where I would like optionally to fix the rotation of the arms relative to the nub without having a copy of the base assy.

Is this possible?  FeatureScript required?

Thanks for the help in advance

Answers

• Options
    philip_thomasphilip_thomas Member, Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,381
    edited July 2017
    @gw_estep - thank you for your question. Its very simple - use 'Group Mate'. This fixes the spatial relationships between n parts.

Philip Thomas - Onshape
  • Options