Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

How to design to center of gravity?

mike_phillips329mike_phillips329 Member Posts: 3
I'm new to Onshape but have over two decades of design work on other CAD systems like Creo Parametric. How can I create a mate, plane or some other "feature" at the center of gravity of my assembly. I'm sure Onshape has this capability as all other systems I've used can easily do this.

Answers

• Options
    rick_randallrick_randall Member Posts: 117 ✭✭
    As far as I know, Onshape will give you the CG of an assembly and its location (x,y,z from the origin), but I don't think you can use the datum mark as a mate connector (or any other means of locating features). Maybe others know something that I don't.
  • Options
    MichaelPascoeMichaelPascoe Member Posts: 1,735 PRO

Here is a custom feature that will place a mate connector and a point at the center of gravity: Center of Gravity - Custom Feature

Learn more about the Gospel of Christ  ( Here )

CADSharp  -  We make custom features and integrated Onshape apps!   cadsharp.com/featurescripts 💎
  • Options
    martin_kopplowmartin_kopplow Member Posts: 286 PRO