Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

House Design Best Practices for a beginner

andrew_barton729andrew_barton729 Member Posts: 4
Hello all - I am very new to OnShape and trying to learn the product. I've been trying out different CAD package, and have so far used FreeCAD and Sketchup.

I am designing a garage addition to my home, which results in three levels overall. I have a couple of questions I was hoping the community could help with.  First off, tutorials, I am struggling to find some good, basic tutorials on home design and layout. Most of the OnShape documentation is very engineering based. Can anyone make a good suggestion there? What has worked best for you?

Second question is on best practices. Parts and assemblies are the building blocks of many drawings. Would you create the basement as a part, first floor as a part, roof as a part, garage as a part, and then put it together in an assembly? Or, just place it all in a single part?

For initial layout and boundaries, do you use Construction, or just basic line and rectangle objects?

I found this example drawing https://cad.onshape.com/documents/569e29daf28932c56a2c7a76/w/d3678f7a010aec8d44ed44bc/e/d73fc28710aef908b4de7934

Any input appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    john_lopez363john_lopez363 Member Posts: 69 ✭✭
    edited March 19
    First off,  I am a HUGE fan of OnShape and absolutely love it....