Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Fill - This operations creates intersecting edges

Jeroen_4Jeroen_4 Member Posts: 6
Hi,
I am fairly new to Onshape and have been playing around with it for a month or so. Currently trying to make a printable 1:87 scale model of a Frisian sailing ship, a so called "skûtsje". I have been able to creat the hull already and an now working on the deck.

I have created the outline of the deck (Dek side 3D sketch) with a projected curve (curve to face) and then mirrored it (Dek side 3D mirror) it using the right plane. Had then intended to use 4 guides (Dek guide 1 ... 4) to ensure the double curvature of the deck. 

Problem however is that I am unable to use the Fill command with the two outside curves only. It tells me that the fill did no regenerate properly as "This operations creates intersecting edges". 
Any idea what I am doing wrong here?

You can find my project at: https://cad.onshape.com/documents/83370e8bf558710b1f02b691/w/f2e633345116cb456ccaaf11/e/9a74c87a8823405591ed5d41

Best Answer

• Options
    S1monS1mon Member Posts: 2,423 PRO
    Answer ✓
    Overall you've managed pretty well for someone new to Onshape.