Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Is there a theory for complex modelling?

javl0p_2javl0p_2 Member Posts: 56 ✭✭

I've been doing parametric modelling for quite a few years now, but I recently started scraping onto the surface of complex modelling.

What I mean for complex modelling is the one requiring a lot of surface modelling and advanced operations in order to model shapes that we commonly encounter in Industrial Design. You can think of cars, hair driers, earbuds or even modern furniture.

When dealing with simpler shapes, there are methods such as braking the shape into basic primitive forms or imagining the manufacturing process and modelling each step of it (that one I prefer, since it takes into account manufacturability).

However, I found myself struggling with surfaces that I am not able to break into simpler operations. Sometimes I am not even able to figure out the key curves that serve as a scaffold.

I was wondering if there is a methodology for complex surfaces. Is it just experience that I need or is there a theory I should learn first?

I would appreciate any references that you could share.

Thanks!

Best Answer

• Options
    nick_papageorge073nick_papageorge073 Member, csevp Posts: 670 PRO
    Answer ✓