Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How to model a lens shade for 3d filament printing...

max_rockbinmax_rockbin Member Posts: 7
edited September 2015 in Community Support
I'm new to CAD and have been trying to figure out how to model a microscope lenshade with the following approximate specs:
Bottom profile is a circle approx 19mm diameter
Above it about 20mm, the opening profile is a rectangle approx 1.5x2.5mm
(this is for a microscope lens, so the subject end is narrower than the back end)
So it's sort of a cone with a cut off squared pointy end.

That's a straightforward loft with the surface thickened (to 2mm).  The tricky part is that the inside has to have grooves about 1mm deep concentric to the axis.  The grooves would be separated by 0.3mm and span about 2mm.
They would be rectangular grooves perpendicular to the central axis (lofting path of the hood).
Ideally, the grooves would be trapezoidal, so the deepest part would actually be at a 45 degree angle at the bottom, giving support to the upper wall of the groove as it is being 3d printed (about 1/2mm of the wall depth would still be cantilevered).