Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Branching GUI doesn't feel intuitive

CaptainBisquickCaptainBisquick OS Professional Posts: 33 ✭✭
I find the branching tools unintuitive and slightly confusing.

Let me give the disclaimer that I understand the practices of branching quite well. I work as a software developer, and I have fairly extensive experience with Git, and to a lesser degree, Subversion and CVS. I've performed an svn to git migration for a major website (a household brand name most people know), and I'm often able to help my colleagues in answering their git questions and provide git workflow solutions to problems when they come up.

That being said, I find branches in OnShape slightly obtuse.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/x13cbcsbtxu9qvb/Screenshot 2015-12-06 19.03.56.png?dl=0

First I have only Start and Main. I discover I must create v1 before I can create v2. At first this is confusing to me, but after more thought, I conclude that Main is analogous to unstaged changes, v1 is analogous to my first commit, and v2 is analogous to a branch created off that commit. After working through it, I can see the logic behind it, but not at first.