Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

What type of clearance for a sliding lid box

Hi. I'm brand new to cad and have been playing around with the onshape app and was wondering if anyone could offer any advice. I'm trying to design a simple sliding lid box to be milled from aluminum. What type of fit is the lid to the box (I know I don't want an interference fit) and how much size difference should there be between the too? This is just a basic attempt with the app plan on starting over once I get a better hang of things. I'd hate to send out a design to cnc for the first time and realize I'd overlooked somethinig.
Again any advice would be awesome.

Thanks you in advance 
Adam

Best Answers

• _Ðave__Ðave_ Member, Developers Posts: 712 ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Magnets are a good concept. .003 clearance @ maximum material condition should be fine. If the slot and lid both have +/- .002 tolerance than your clearance would be between .003 and .011. which is reasonable and won't have an issue with galling unless the parts get nicked and damaged. anodize would help with that but than you'll have to allow for plating thickness.

Answers

• adam_dezolt_adam_dezolt_ Member Posts: 6
    Oh I just looked at my screenshot and realized I should have modified the top portion of the lid to fit proper before posting sorry :o
    coleman said: