Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How to Transform Sketch points/curves

bartyborrisbartyborris OS Professional Posts: 11 PRO
First, I am very new to FeatureScript, so please be patient.  I need to transform several points in a sketch and have not been able to find any examples or documentation (that I can understand enough to piece together into something useful... yet).  My thought was to simply use the 2D rotation matrix, something like what is shown below (which I know will not work!).  In general, if someone could point me to where I can find examples on how to do linear algebra like operations (e.g. create matrices and multiply them) and transforms on points/lines/curves within a sketch I would greatly appreciate it.  It appears there is lots of functionality (even SVD, which is great!), although I am struggling on how to utilize it. 

// create 2D rotation "matrix"<br>const rotMat = [ [cos(angle), -sin(angle)], [sin(angle), cos(angle)] ];<br><br>// create a 2D "vector"<br>var point1 = vector(0 , 1) * inch;<br>// or maybe:<br>var point1 = [0 * inch, 1 * inch];<br><br>// now rotate/transform the vector with the rotation matrix<br>point1 *= rotMat;

Comments

• ilya_baranilya_baran Onshape Employees, Developers, HDM Posts: 1,173
    You got pretty close actually -- here's a working version of your code:

// create 2D rotation "matrix"
            var angle = 30 * degree;