Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How to create a ring (jewelry) with a varying cross-sectional profile (varying height and/or width)

DavidPhillipsDavidPhillips Member, Developers Posts: 8
edited September 2016 in Community Support
I'm new to CAD/OnShape, trying to do as stated in the title. I am not sure if there is a standard way of designing a shape like this, but ideally I'd like to specify multiple profiles around the band of the ring (say, at 0, 90, 180 and 270 degrees) to sweep between (interpolating the shape of the resulting solid between each profile) along the path that the band defines (typically a circle). The problem is I understand that OnShape does not currently support sweeping through multiple profiles (just one profile that is used for the entirety of the sweep). Is there a solution to this problem, or perhaps a different way entirely that is generally used for constructing a ring model?