Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Why do you guys think this would happen to my 3d print?

asterios_anagnostouasterios_anagnostou Member Posts: 17 ✭✭
Hey guys, I'm a little new to this and my documents are still coming out a little weird when I 3d print them. I'll attach a couple pics here so you can see whats happening. I am printing with a DaVinci 1.0A, stock. Thanks for any help you guys can render! https://cad.onshape.com/documents/3de4aff6ac3721cf0b82c0d8/w/eee0d6d23d87ae2d3ec45dd4/e/bc8e7155baf677cb2b348715
-Asterios

Best Answers

• Options
    owen_sparksowen_sparks Member, Developers Posts: 2,660 PRO
    Answer ✓
    Hi.  Looking at a cross-section of your part you've got some voids, almost a box withing a box.   Is that deliberate?  There are some pretty thin walls...

Owen S.
    Business Systems and Configuration Controller
    HWM-Water Ltd

Answers

• Options
    yong_kimyong_kim Member Posts: 30 ✭✭
    I do not know the shape of the overall model, but I think that you have not placed the model in a stable position. The formation of a plane not touching the floor is called a bridge, which is to temporarily form a column(maybe 2mm DIA)  under the bridge or form a supporter provided by the program(such as Meshmixer).  Regards, Yong Kim
  • Options
    yong_kimyong_kim Member Posts: 30 ✭✭