Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

HOW TO USE RIP TOOL

Hello to all,
I'm a teacher and I use Onshape in my classes.
We must shape the object of the figure. Can I use the RIP command to make the cylinder part reinforcements? And if so, how do I use the command?
Thanks for the attention.
Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    Jake_RosenfeldJake_Rosenfeld Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,646
    Hi Lamberto,

You can definitely make this geometry in Onshape.  You should look for the "Rib" feature rather than the "Rip" feature.  The "Rip" feature is for creating rips in sheet metal.

Here are some resources for you:
    https://cad.onshape.com/help/Content/rib.htm
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GN-IKLWH6x0
    Jake Rosenfeld - Modeling Team
  • Options
    chris_winters404chris_winters404 Member Posts: 37 PRO
    Hello Lamberto,
    You could also select the front plane and use the Project convert(with the construction line feature turned on) to grab the two lines you would need to build the geometry for the supports and extrude symetrically from there. then array the feature around the cylinder and after that combine using the boolean feature.
    Stay awesome!,
    Sincerely,
    Chris Winters 
  • Options
    edited June 2017