Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

working with multiple objects

Hello, I am new to onshape. I am working on 2 piece which should connect together once 3d printed. I have made one piece so far and I am just wondering if there is an easy way to make sure my second piece will fit with the first piece? 

I have seen that i can make an assembly to position them together, but if i want to edit the second piece i need to leave the assembly to make the changes and go back. 

is there a way to import the first piece into the second piece's file to use it as a reference?

Answers

• Options
    dick_van_der_vaartdick_van_der_vaart Member Posts: 51 PRO
    Best to start viewing some tutorials first, like this one https://www.onshape.com/videos/multipart-design

Welcom
  • Options
    owen_sparksowen_sparks Member, Developers Posts: 2,660 PRO
    edited January 2018
    Hi, as ever with CAD there are several approaches to this.