Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How to calculate distance across a surface?

chris_houserchris_houser Member Posts: 6
My goal is to write a script to add a hexagonal pattern of hexagonal tiles across a series of adjacent surfaces. However, I'm new to Featurescript so at an early stage.

Where I'm stuck at the moment is trying to convert from real-world distances to the "2d unitless parameter-space" used as parameters to evFaceTangentPlanes. I'd like the user to be able to specify something like 5mm, and for the script to calculate how much to add to the x or y of the 2d vector to move 5mm across the surface.

I figured out how to get the length along the curve of each perimeter edge, which is close:
<div>for (var q in evaluateQuery(context, qEdgeAdjacent(definition.Face, EntityType.EDGE))) {
</div><div>&nbsp; println("len: " ~ evLength(context, {"entities": q}));<br></div><div>}</div><div></div>
In particular, evLength's distance along a curve is like what I want but not along the edges, rather along the curve of the surface in whatever direction evFaceTangentPlanes's coordinates run.

I tried to figure out how to get a coordinate system from the surface, figuring I could then use coordSystem conversion functions like toWorld and fromWorld, but I don't know if that would work, and could figure out how to get a coordinate system anyway.

Anyone have any ideas?