Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

help with guidance in a feature script for will solids with patters like lattices

otaolafrotaolafr Member Posts: 113 EDU

Hello

Looking for some help from the feature scripts masters. After a conversation with someone from the support team, he told me that a feature like this would be possible to do it and as I have no idea/experience with feature scripts coding I would love some help/guidance/recommendations to where to look for writing my own script for this (it is for academy purposes)

I work with 3D printing of different structures and analyzing different benefits between their structures, the main part of them are structures like lattices (this of this style: https://grabcad.com/library/dode-lattice-structure-2)

These structures have a “seed cell” that repeats in the three spatial dimensions generating an interconnected regular structure.

When I tried to do directly in onshape with normal features it was taking a lot of time.

What I would like to do is have three bodies:

1rst one a “volume cell” (example a cube) with this I could change the cell sizes of it.

2nd the “seed cell” that would be contained inside the volume cell where I would be able to modify the seed cell internal sizes, for example, if their beams are round it, square, etc… and the sizes of the beams.