Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

locating section cuts in drawing or on model - how

I've been using Pro/E - Creo since 1988 (when it ran on Suns and came on QIC Tapes.  I've agreed to teach a solid modeling course at a local college where OnShape is the application du jour.  I've been coming up to speed and find it truly wonderful and, I think a lot easier to learn than Creo.

There is a small problem with nomenclature, fair enough. Some features are not named what they are in Creo, but for the most part I've figured it out and I like it a whole  lot.

I so far haven't been able to figure out how to do something with OnShape that I do a lot of.

I make R/C planes.  In Creo, I design wings using a swept blend of the airfoil(s) I want.  I then pattern parallel planes transverse to the spar where the ribs will be cut, then make sections on these planes, show the sections in a drawing, export drawing as DXF, make up what will be the CNC input in Autocad, (clean-up, add lightening holes, nesting, etc) then export DXF from autocad to SheetCAM, a 2 1/2D program which makes G-Code from DXF input. Then I cut the ribs on my router.
I realize this sounds complicated, but once I'm in AutoCAD, it goes pretty quickly.