Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

How to properly use imported FeatureScript in my own FeatureScript

Andrew_BaroletAndrew_Barolet Member Posts: 5
I'm just starting to learn FeatureScript and have been able to use it in creating some simple geometry. Now I want to add in functionality of other FeatureScripts and have tried following the information in the imports section of the documentation.

The FeatureScript I am trying to use is [Feature] Surface Text, and I would like to know how to properly initialize its preconditions or access the variables of the FeatureScript. 

Best Answer

Answers

• owen_sparksowen_sparks Member, Developers Posts: 2,660 PRO
    edited February 2020
    @Jake_Rosenfeld
    These comments are worth their weight in gold.
    Is there any chance you could take a few days vacation from your normal role and just write a bunch of this stuff down?!

I bet there is a ton of stuff you take for granted with FS that the average punter doesn't have a clue that it even exists.

It wouldn't need to be a polished tutorial, just a bunch of paragraphs of ideas, recommendations, pitfalls, explanations of what does what and why etc. Anything that brings FS to a wider audience has got to be a good thing.
    Owen S.
    Business Systems and Configuration Controller
    HWM-Water Ltd
  • Jake_RosenfeldJake_Rosenfeld Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 1,646