Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Bizarre loft - what am I doing wrong?

ian_harris952ian_harris952 Member Posts: 20 ✭✭
All,

I am no expert, I only use Onshape as a hobbyist to knock up designs to 3D print or laser cut. I would like to use lofting as I think it would highlight errors in my designs. However I am having a problem getting it to do what I am expecting it to do.

I have had some success with lofting in some of my other drawings, but in my test drawing, in which I am trying to get a handle on what it does and how it works, I have had the least success.

In the top loft, even if I just loft between Former 1 and Former 2, one side works as expected, but the other side has a strange crease down it. I really want to loft from the first point (vertex) to the last point. When I do this one side works, the other side looks like the Elephant Man. The lower loft works slightly better, but I cannot get it to loft from the first point to the last point at all, instead red lines are drawn, and I cannot understand what they mean or how to correct the problem.

I have made sure all the faces in the loft are identical in every way except size. They are very simple shapes consisting of two mirrored splines.

There are no error messages displayed or any indication other than the red lines of what the problem is, and I don't understand what the red lines mean.