Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Configurations and in-context updates

CSchmidtCSchmidt Member Posts: 5 ✭✭
edited August 2022 in Using Onshape
Can someone help me better understand how in-context changes work with configurations?  The link below contains a "near" and "far" assembly configuration that I want to drive the solution for the "part 2" configurations of "near" and "far".  I'm very new to onshape but this is a test of the capability of the onshape software.

https://cad.onshape.com/documents/62d3b5bb28ca4c453e9dcf45/w/b49a3342b1cf1ac494a18e20/e/805abc891f408ae64289f425?configuration=default&renderMode=0&uiState=63014bb88ecc1b6bcec511af

Comments

• Options
    eric_pestyeric_pesty Member Posts: 1,607 PRO
    One option would be to use a separate branch where you update the context to use the far configuration of the assembly but that gets a bit messy. What you need to do here is create a separate context for the far configuration.

The difference with other CAD is that contexts are "independent" from each other so the near and far contexts aren't actually related so while you can update the one context between near and far, you can't quite directly pick which one to use in each part configuration.