Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

THREAD CREATOR

geoff_medcraftgeoff_medcraft OS Professional Posts: 3 PRO
I am a keen amateur in Cad and use it for 3d printing.     I have just used Thread Creator for the first time and it was a good experience, but I am interested in other thread forms such as BSP british standard pipe based on a Whitworth form, I am searching a solution to providing this form as thread creator does not presently have it an an option.  Any ideas or advice please. Geoff

Best Answer

Answers

• owen_sparksowen_sparks Member, Developers Posts: 2,660 PRO
    edited March 2017
    Hi

**Edit - Sorry, just seen you posted this in the featurescript forum so most of what I said is no use.  Sorry.

My take on this:-

(1) Don't take this the wrong way but do you really need the actual thread?  I got a bit carried away with threads when I started but now only really use a hole with the pilot drill diameter for internal threads, and tap them after 3D printing, or use a captive metal nut within the print.  Actaully modeling the threads itself can generate more geometry than all the rest of the parts combined, which does not help performance...