Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Update a configuration variable or a normal variable with the API?

schepmanschepman Member Posts: 3
Hi there! New to CAD, programmer by trade. Trying to help a friend automate some things using the OnShape API and could really use some guidance.

I want to be able to use the API to update either a variable in a part studio (possible?) or a configuration variable (seems possible?) and then once either one of those is updated, the model will react to that (I'm sure I'm getting the jargon wrong here..) .. then I want to be able to read out the values of a bunch of variables.

This is a simple model but my friend essentially wants to be able to run design studies where a variable that drives the model gets put through a range of values and then at each stop on the range I can read out all the values of the other variables and we can graph them.