Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

How to mate chain link like parts and also align them to a flat plane (3D Printing)?

I'm new to onshape, but have been dappling CAD modeling for a couple years. I have also search tutorials and forums to try and find an answer. I made a model to 3D print of an articulating snake. This is essential chain links between body parts to allow the model to flex around. So, I created my parts and a fully assembly and was able to mate the joints but having to use a Ball Mate for them. With a limit of 15 degrees, I was able to get my model from being a straight line to a curve. Exciting, as that's what I wanted to do to fit my 3D printer build plate better (or play with other shapes to possibly print more at once).

My issue that I cannot solve is that the bottom surfaces of my model are not flat. When I export and put it into a slicer, they can't lie flat on the build plate without major tweaking. This seems to be due to various Z rotations, which I believe the ball mates are making as the part is rotated.