Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

entry level / hobbyist SKU

Hi!

I *love* Onshape.  One of my clients (professionally, I'm a consulting electrical engineer) used Onshape for their mechanical work in their product, and so when I bought an accursed 3D printer, my go-to for 'well, huh, what should I try out?' was Onshape.  I have never looked back and I evangelize it to anyone who will listen.  It is absolutely a game-changing technology for me to have gone from 'maybe I should try this?' to being able to constrain sketches in literally 30 seconds, on my little weird Linux laptop, no downloads, no nothing.

I love Onshape so much that I actually really want to pay y'all money for it.  The problem is that nobody out there is stupid enough to pay me money to professionally design mechanical objects!  I am probably a good electrical engineer but truly nobody should pay me to make plastic or metal for them.  So most of the work I do is open source and I just upload it to Printables right after -- which means that $125/mo is both quite expensive for 'I love it and want to support it', and also gets me almost nothing (I don't need to make any of my models private!).  The professional SKU, at $210/mo, does get me some stuff I want -- render studio, PCB studio, simulation -- but that is even more of a price point that I just cannot justify.