Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Can not find a part in assembly

hans_11hans_11 Member Posts: 1
Hi All!

I am a mechanical engineer and use SolidWorks every day.
But in Onshape I have a problem (c:

when I stand in the assembly and wanted insert  a part
So I can not see my parts ?????

Best Answers

Answers

• Options
    andrew_troupandrew_troup Member, Mentor Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2015
    My unqualified use of the terms "Push" and "Pull" was not very helpful - as/or perhaps was my suggestion that the crucial situation is standard parts, in the scenario where they are updated, propagating to assemblies. It's an important scenario, but not exclusively so. Any externally generated parts have the potential to raise at least some of these issues. Mea culpa. 

Seems to me the key thing, regardless of whether an amendment to a part belonging to an assembly is pushed or pulled, is that the recipient document, under Onshape's new paradigm, should not be routinely looking elsewhere for the information, but be self-contained at all times. 

In the Solidworks environment, the link generally stays live at all times (external files are referenced by assemblies) so any updates propagate without user intervention.