Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Help With Flatten Sheetmetal

labernlabern Member Posts: 33 ✭✭✭
I Know this isn't 100% Onshape related but I have drawn a thin extrude item in Onshape and tried to flatten it in Solidworks.
I have no experience with sheet metal in Solidworks and its just coming up with an error and wont flatten unless I suppress 2 of the curves
Is anyone able to look at my model and possibly point me in the correct direction?
Its just one part in my workspace and don't want to make the whole workspace public yet but if anyone would like to help out I can share the file to you.

Best Answer

Answers

• Options
    brucebartlettbrucebartlett Member, OS Professional, Mentor, User Group Leader Posts: 2,137 PRO
    edited August 2015
    Try selecting the inside face. Tends to flatten better.

If you post a link to your Onshape or a picture part can give more help
    Engineer ı Product Designer ı Onshape Consulting Partner
    Twitter: @onshapetricks  & @babart1977   
  • Options
    andrew_troupandrew_troup Member, Mentor Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Solidworks can only flatten parts if they are very strictly constant in thickness, bends are dead straight, and a few other considerations such as inter-bend clearance which are (IIRC) listed in Solidworks Help.
  • Options
    That was a fast response  :) I was just in the process of adding a picture.
  • Options
    edited August 2015