Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

total OnShape newbie - need help drawing on imported assemblies

sameer_sheikhsameer_sheikh Member Posts: 8
I am very new to OnShape, having only started using it in the middle of January, and even then, in limited fashion.  I know nothing about design nor do I know anything about anything CAD related, so this was my very first foray into both.  As for what I have managed to learn, well, I don't know how to do much other than create very rudimentary sketches and a even less with respect to extrusion.  I know nothing about creating assemblies, let alone anything about best practices.

I have an assignment where I need to create a wall-climbing robot, which in itself is a monumental task, without being stifled with my extremely limited knowledge of designing parts in OnShape.

What I've done, so far, is imported an assembly of a the Tamiya Tracked Chassis.  Whoever, did work on this did a brilliant job.  Now, what I was hoping and trying to do was create some drawings of additional components that I needed 3D printed.  And this is where I have hit a 100-foot wall.  While, I was able to import the file(s) and have the assembly sitting in my online personal folder, but nothing is doing what I was hoping it would do.