Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Make parts look solid (non-translucent) in Part Studio

sam_cockssam_cocks Member Posts: 3 EDU
I'm just starting out with Onshape, having used SolidWorks a lot in the past.

When I model in Parts Studio, the objects are translucent (I can see all sides/edges in the model at once) which makes it difficult to work with and does not give the view I am looking for. In tutorials and other Google images I see online, all the objects look solid, but I can't find any settings to change this and all searches have tried come up frustratingly dry. The part is not set to transparent on the 'make transparent' feature.

When I view the part in Assembly view, it does show up as solid; however I have inserted images onto some of the faces which do not show in this and so the view is also not that helpful for my needs.

Does anyone know how I can either make the part solid in Parts Studio or make the images show in the Assembly view? Many, many thanks for any help you can give as I'm about to give up with Onshape and find another program.

I have a student license in case relevant.

Comments

• Options
    NeilCookeNeilCooke Moderator, Onshape Employees Posts: 5,428