Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Move one part onto another at location

j_o581j_o581 Member Posts: 5
Hello all,
Just trying to get oriented to OnShape, I have some experience with other CAD software (sketchup, tinkercad) and I am looking for how to move one part onto another.
I have an empty box as one part, and another part that I want to move into the box at an intersection (corner of the box) with the intention of merging them into one part afterward.
I am trying to use the Transform tool, but no luck actually moving the part to where I want it

Best Answer

• Options
    MichaelPascoeMichaelPascoe Member Posts: 1,713 PRO
    Answer ✓
    There are several ways to do this, Transform by mate connector gives you the most control.

While inside the transform feature, click the drop down menu and select "Transform by mate connector". Then, define where you want the mate connectors. You can also create mate connectors outside of this feature, but on the fly may be more convenient.

Learn more about the Gospel of Christ  ( Here )

CADSharp  -  We make custom features and integrated Onshape apps!   cadsharp.com/featurescripts 💎

Answers

• Options
    bruce_williamsbruce_williams Member, Developers Posts: 842 PRO
    Unsure where you might be having a problem.  Here are a couple tips:
    1)  the Onshape help is excellent - see transform help here