Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

What is an OS Design Workflow Supposed to Look Like

joshua_pohlmanjoshua_pohlman Member Posts: 3
Hello,

I have been using onshape for awhile now and I have finally decided to start making the move from SW which I have been using for about 5 years. And I have started a project to kind of force me to figure out this workflow, and I will say I have been having an odd time adjusting. I think my  biggest things is I don't feel like I understand the design philosophy of OS. I am used to making a part and pulling that into and assembly, and if I feel so compelled I may create and in context part in that assembly. But I feel like I am misusing these part studios when I make one part and try to add them together in an assembly. And I see how I would design in context but what about parts I have already designed how am I to pull those in and mate them up in a part studio. I guess what I am saying is does anyone have some good resources for someone who has a good grasp of the buttons and controls but just need to get a better understanding of onshape itself.

Thanks
Joshua

Answers

• Options
    Jake_DelanoJake_Delano Member, Onshape Employees Posts: 41