Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Is there a generic parts repository? Like screws, nuts, washers, fans, etc?

florian_fordflorian_ford Member Posts: 54 ✭✭
edited October 2015 in Community Support
Hi I am new to Onshape forums and haven't found an answer on the web for this question. I have recently started with CAD and have learned very quickly DesignSpark Mechanical. It is a very nice and evolutionary piece of CAD software. However, the free version is crippled in some areas and the actions history doesn't exist there. I want to get learning a more powerful/mainstream CAD software and, it coming from a SolidWorks heritage, Onshape looks one of the most promising solutions out there.

One thing that I loved about DSM is it huge repository with parts from vendors that you can import and use in your design. It helps tremendously when I don't have to model a stepper motor or a threaded rod or a M5,M8 etc.

Is such a functionality existing in Onshape or maybe it is planned?

Thank you.

Best Answer

Answers

• brucebartlettbrucebartlett Member, OS Professional, Mentor, User Group Leader Posts: 2,137 PRO
    Hi @florian_ford

I'm sure some form of repository is planned but it will be done though technology partners. Checkout the component and content library partners https://www.onshape.com/partners/technology