Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Making a rod end bearing need help

will_aldridgewill_aldridge Member Posts: 10
I'm new to this and not even sure how to phrase this.  I've been using Rhino for the past 9 years and I recognize this user interface as being vastly superior but it's confusing me no end right now.  

I started off trying to make a rod end bearing (I titled it mm-4 Rod end bearing) for those who would like to take a look at it.  As you can see I have the general shape created and I have sketched in the ball portion of the bearing but I after that I'm lost.  I want to subtract the ball area from the main housing and then add the ball itself.  I can make a surface for the ball but I think I want a solid.  Any help is appreciated.  

Best Answer

Answers

• 3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,470 PRO
    Can you please share link to your document if you have made it public?
    //rami
  • erwin_1erwin_1 Member Posts: 15 ✭✭
    Have a look at mm-4 Rod end bearing - Copy.
    First, you don't need sketch 2 (I suppressed it).
    For the end piece: you can make the extrude symmetric. So you don't need the mirror. 
    The rod itself, if you make your sketches closed you can rotate them to solids. I added the rod with the end piece directly in the revolve.