Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Hobbyist looking for advice on building difficult structures

mark_dutton343mark_dutton343 Member Posts: 14
I am a hobbyist and I have been using Onshape for about a year. Loving it and after using Freecad, it is so much more elegant.

Anyway, I am looking for advice, that might be more suitable to a maker's forum, but I thought I'd try here in case there is some funky feature in Onshape to help me directly.

I have drawn a drain leaf strainter. The drawing is here. https://cad.onshape.com/documents/d1c2ce417c4a1ce1929a6f6b/w/3f729b7dc92ed16468f6dc0c/e/2ab2252e7de05181874d4beb?renderMode=0&uiState=62a028878bfb3069d20c7fbf

The problem I have is that when I 3D print this, the fingers are very unstable and move around with the printhead, so the quality is pretty awful. What I would like to do is draw a very thin cylinder inside the structure with small contact points every 10mm or so to stabilise the entire model as it is printed. Is there a trick to doing something like this in Onshape, or do I have to manually create this as part of the drawing?

Cheers

Comments

• Options
    mark_dutton343mark_dutton343 Member Posts: 14