Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Parts in subassembly move when inserted in a master assembly

Hi All

I'm new to Onshape (Solidworks user for 10yrs) and don't fully understand subassemblies within master assemblies. Here's a quick video where I explain what I'm trying to understand: https://www.loom.com/share/b65d18ff1a514fe09cf1cf3496481d1b

T crux of it is this: I need to understand how I can build subassemblies that are accurately represented in a master assembly where: 
1 - Parts in the subassembly don't move independently in the master assembly
2 - Updates to the subassembly are represented in the master. 

Thanks. 

Answers

• eric_pestyeric_pesty Member Posts: 1,461 PRO
    Sub-assemblies are always "flexible" in Onshape so any degrees of freedom are always propagated "upwards" in the assembly structure.
    I guess there are a couple of ways you could handle this.

One option would be to create "named positions" (you could crate one in your sub assembly and "re-use" it in your higher level). The downside is that it's more of a "bookmark" to get you to the position but things are still free to move.

You could also add mates in the higher level to further constrain things (but it won't update based on what you do in the lower level).