Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

3D printing.

doug_hillsdoug_hills Member Posts: 26
Hello, I'm new to onshape, and I know that many things have already been discussed before, but I have no idea how to find those conversations.

I'm interested in 3D printing my projects. Is there one of the self-paced courses that covers this? It wan't in the CAD basics/fundamentals course.
Just point me int he right direction please.

Doug

Comments

• Options
    GWS50GWS50 Member Posts: 379 PRO
    Onshape is a design program and so doesn't deal with slicing your model for printing.
    Once your design is ready to print you would need to export it as an STL file from Onshape and then import the STL file into your slicer (Cura, Simplify3D, Prusa Slicer etc). Most printers come with their own slicer software but there are others out there.
    Your slicer software will most likely have tutorials that come with it or otherwise if you search youtube you will find plenty of help with your particular machine. I hope this helps.
  • Options
    wout_theelen541wout_theelen541 Member, csevp Posts: 198 PRO
    There's not that many resources supported by OnShape for 3D printing yet check out my question on that topic here:
    https://forum.onshape.com/discussion/19026/cam-coming-to-onshape#latest
    however there is plenty of resources like this in the forum to help you out: