Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Wrapping a Sphere

kevin_wood958kevin_wood958 Member Posts: 9
Hello! 

First time posting, but have visited the forum for many solutions in the past. Kind of at a loss here. Forgive me, as I'm all self-taught with CAD. So I may not give the best technical description of what I'm trying to achieve. 

In short, I want to wrap a drawing around a sphere (series of small circles). With the ultimate goal of being able to use those circles to locate holes in the sphere (which will also be hollow). 

I was kind of able to accomplish this by creating a two cylinders around the sphere. Wrapping the sketch and extruding the circles. Then used the replace face feature to mate them with the sphere's surface. The main problem with this is that any of the circles (holes) that aren't along the center line of the cylinder were distorted.

I did some digging, and was able to find a "Project" feature script. And while this projected the circles exactly as I'd want them. There was nothing I could do in respect to creating holes in the sphere with them. 

Again, I apologize if I'm not describing this in the best way I can. Below is an image of the sphere and associated sketch I wish to wrap around it for locating each hole. 

Thanks in advance!

Answers

• Options
    Evan_ReeseEvan_Reese Member Posts: 2,064 PRO