Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Which is better performance out of these two?

MAHMOUD_FARGHALMAHMOUD_FARGHAL Member Posts: 7 PRO
edited November 2023 in Using Onshape

For context, the first one is Dell Precision 7560 Core i9. The second is MacBook Pro "Core i7" 2.6 15" Touch/2019 

EDIT: I included the whole page for the Dell one so that you can judge properly

Comments

  • Options
    NeilCookeNeilCooke Moderator, Onshape Employees Posts: 5,442
    They are both terrible, but given the choice I would go with the Mac (since lines is the edge lines shown on a model and requires more computation than triangles which is the shaded faces).
    Senior Director, Technical Services, EMEAI
  • Options
    martin_kopplowmartin_kopplow Member Posts: 294 PRO
    Hi, I wonder how you get such poor performance out of the Dell Precision. 
    You may want to check the graphics settings and whatelse.
    In comparison, this is a test I just ran on an older Dell Precision 7530 i7:
  • Options
    nick_papageorge073nick_papageorge073 Member, csevp Posts: 687 PRO
    edited November 2023
    Something is very wrong with all your numbers. I had a Dell Precision 5530 from 2018 that is 3x faster than your numbers. And that Mac is modern from 2019 and should be way higher. 
  • Options
    S1monS1mon Member Posts: 2,439 PRO
    It seems like @MAHMOUD_FARGHAL probably has issues with the way his browsers are set up. 

    Follow the instructions on this page:

  • Options
    michael3424michael3424 Member Posts: 682 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2023
    Ha!

    This is what I get for an HP Z2 Tower G4 workstation with I7 9700 3.60 GHz CPU, Intel UHD Graphics 360, 32 GB RAM, and a Seagate SATA 1TB primary drive.  Oddly enough, Onshape seems to run well enough for my simple projects, but Chrome has frequent short freezes while browsing. 

    Any suggestions on what to upgrade first - a Samsung 1TB SSD or a GeoForce RTX 2070 video card?




  • Options
    martin_kopplowmartin_kopplow Member Posts: 294 PRO
    edited November 2023
    @michael3424 If you want Onshape performance, the SSD will most probably not help at all. I'd go with a graphics card upgrade, though I have no personal experience with the model you mentioned. The Intel UHD 360 graphics is sure not too good, so it should be easy to improve over.
  • Options
    michael3424michael3424 Member Posts: 682 ✭✭✭✭
    @martin_kopplow - thanks for the input.  I'd bought the RTX 2070 as an-add-on along with the workstation but never got around to installing it, so I'll do that first.
  • Options
    martin_kopplowmartin_kopplow Member Posts: 294 PRO
    @michael3424 If you have it laying around anyway, it is most probably worth trying, you can't loose much. If I switch between the Intel UHD and my Nvidia card, the difference immediately becomes obvious :0)
  • Options
    nick_papageorge073nick_papageorge073 Member, csevp Posts: 687 PRO
    Ha!

    This is what I get for an HP Z2 Tower G4 workstation with I7 9700 3.60 GHz CPU, Intel UHD Graphics 360, 32 GB RAM, and a Seagate SATA 1TB primary drive.  Oddly enough, Onshape seems to run well enough for my simple projects, but Chrome has frequent short freezes while browsing. 

    Any suggestions on what to upgrade first - a Samsung 1TB SSD or a GeoForce RTX 2070 video card?




    Those numbers seem horrible for a 9th gen i7, even with the integrated gpu. 

    Anyway, also try switching to Firefox instead of chrome if you are running into issues. Chrome has a much smaller memory limit per browser window. If you are running into that limit, you’ll notice problems. 
  • Options
    MAHMOUD_FARGHALMAHMOUD_FARGHAL Member Posts: 7 PRO
    Here's a full picture of the results so that you guys can judge properly. 

  • Options
    nick_papageorge073nick_papageorge073 Member, csevp Posts: 687 PRO
    edited November 2023
    Here's a full picture of the results so that you guys can judge properly. 

    Your machine probably has a discreet gpu. I doubt anyone would have configured an i9 chip without a discrete gpu. Read through the link S1mon posted above. 
  • Options
    nick_papageorge073nick_papageorge073 Member, csevp Posts: 687 PRO
    Also, I just looked up the spec of your Mac and it has a discreet gpu in addition to the Intel integrated gpu. 
  • Options
    MAHMOUD_FARGHALMAHMOUD_FARGHAL Member Posts: 7 PRO
    I looked up how to make Chrome use the dedicated GPU and it gave me much higher numbers indeed. 


Sign In or Register to comment.