Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

AI Text-To-CAD using Onshape!

Chris_TiltonChris_Tilton Member Posts: 10
Hey All!

My name is Chris, I'm an Onshape Intern and an undergrad Mechanical Engineering student at Tufts. I'm currently doing an Undergrad Research Project surrounding using OpenAI and the Onshape API to create CAD models via text input. So far, my model is trained using some of the examples from the Feature List API and is able to make spheres and cubes of different sizes, or any number of the combination of the two, using the JSON payloads from the examples that call custom features and some python code that I wrote and trained it on. This is a great step, but before presenting this at the end of the semester I would love to take some huge steps forward and turn this into something more useful. So, as a novice programmer and API noob, I turn to the wonderful Onshape community for some guidance. If you feel you have the knowledge to answer one or more of the following questions, please do, the more help I can get, the more impressive of a tool this can be.

Here's a quick demo of the tool in action, with the very limited capabilities at the moment.