Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

my first impressions, working with big parts and assemblys

MightyMMightyM Member Posts: 3
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Onshape. I just want to share some thoughts and my first impressions about the product.
I work as an engineer. I design injection molding tools on Catia V5. most of my work is for the automotive industry. I'm here because i'm also interested in other projects and whats the Future of CAx.

please excuse my bad english. my mother tongue is German.

first thing i've noticed is that onshape has some great features that even in big High-End-CADs are missing. The first steps are realy easy to learn. It seams that it doesn't matter if you want to model a single part, multiple bodys, or a assembly. the collaboration features, version control, merging branches and many other features are rally great.

but what i'm curious about is, how do you manage working on big parts and assemblies with hundreds of parts and thousands of features and sketches. In Catia V5 a clean Workflow is very important and essential. many Companies have strict guidelines how a model has to be build and how it should look like. so thats one thing that makes it hard for me to really get familiar with onshape.

Comments

• Options
    3dcad3dcad Member, OS Professional, Mentor Posts: 2,470 PRO