Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Slow preparation speed

crispy_meloncrispy_melon Member Posts: 4
I've been working on a model recently and it's slowly become harder and harder to actually make new extrudes and fillets and all due to the "preparation time" I'm unsure what the problem is, I'm fairly new to onshape but, this doesn't seem normal. I have a high end gaming PC with a high end CPU too. I checked the performance tab and nothing seems to make sense for causing the performance issue. I've tried testing my browser compatibility along with other recommendations but nothing seems to help reduce the nearly 10 second preparation time. it really causes it to be almost impossible to work on the model. anyone have any recommendations?  

Comments

• Options
    eric_pestyeric_pesty Member Posts: 1,524 PRO
    I've been experiencing this to some extent as well...
    I have noticed this in the changelog from today's release:
    "Fixed an underlying issue that can cause slowness when editing features and sketches"

I'm hoping that will help, check to see if it still happens after your document is updated to the latest version...
  • Options
    NeilCookeNeilCooke Moderator, Onshape Employees Posts: 5,414
    @crispy_melon your feature count is creeping up. Too many and you’ll have slow regeneration to contend with as well. 
    Senior Director, Technical Services, EMEAI
  • Options