Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Making a truncated cone with holes removed

Firstly. I am new to OnShape but not new to modeling. I am attempting to make a shape that is a truncated cone (surface only) with circular holes cut in the cone around the circumference at 45 degree increments. (Firearm muzzle with holes in it). My attempt was to:
  1. Draw profile
  2. Revolve
  3. New Sketch
  4. Draw Circles
  5. Select the Circle Faces 
  6. Extrude/Remove (symmetrical to get 2 for one remove)
     If I pick anything other than "New" for the extrude it fails (Shows red cylinder). 

Even trickier is that I must have circles cut in the cone at increments of 45 degrees around the circumference of the revolve. 

So far it appears as if this is beyond the capabilities of OnShape but hopefully I'm wrong. Suggestions?

Comments

• NeilCookeNeilCooke Moderator, Onshape Employees Posts: 5,310
    Hi Russell - any particular reason it needs to be a surface? If you model your cone as a solid it will work perfectly. At the moment it sounds like you are trying to do a solid extrude/remove feature on a surface which will not work. 
    Senior Director, Technical Services, EMEAI
  • jakeramsleyjakeramsley Member, Moderator, Onshape Employees, Developers Posts: 657
    Use a split face followed by a circular face pattern.  From here you just need to delete the split faces.