Welcome to the Onshape forum! Ask questions and join in the discussions about everything Onshape.

First time visiting? Here are some places to start:
  1. Looking for a certain topic? Check out the categories filter or use Search (upper right).
  2. Need support? Ask a question to our Community Support category.
  3. Please submit support tickets for bugs but you can request improvements in the Product Feedback category.
  4. Be respectful, on topic and if you see a problem, Flag it.

If you would like to contact our Community Manager personally, feel free to send a private message or an email.

Options

Variables and Equations based Parametric Modeling Vs. FeatureScript

A_Reed048A_Reed048 Member Posts: 6
Hello,

I've been using solid modeling software since 2003 (Inventor then SolidWorks) and for the sake of our FIRST team I am considering switching to Onshape so I'm giving it a try to see if I can translate my knowledge and experience from the last 21 years into this new system.

The part linked below is one of the more complex examples of a parametric part we often use in Solidworks. Saved as a part template anyone with access can generate a new file, modify a few global variables in the equation editor, click 'Ok' to solve and regenerate the part, and have a new herringbone gear for use in one of our mechanisms. I was able to use variables and very similar modeling techniques to generate more or less the same file in OnShape but when I attempt to edit one of the variables as I would in SW something in the solve order doesn't work out and it doesn't properly rebuild.

Is this functionality something I can achieve with Variables and Equations or will it require me to learn a whole new skill set of coding in FeatureScript? I know full well I could probably find a close enough match in the community's MKCAD library but for maximum flexibility, especially with such a short season, I want to know what I can and can't generate on my own skills.